Faculty by Area

Integrated Composition, Improvisation, and Technology (ICIT)

Integrated Composition, Improvisation, and Technology (ICIT)

Michael Dessen mdessen@uci.edu Professor
Integrated Composition, Improvisation and Technology; Jazz Trombone
Christopher Dobrian dobrian@uci.edu Professor
Integrated Composition, Improvisation and Technology; Joint Appointment with Informatics
Mari Kimura kimuram1@uci.edu Professor
Integrated Composition, Improvisation and Technology
Eric Lindsay lindsaye@uci.edu Lecturer
Music Theory, Composition and Technology
Nicole Mitchell blackearthmusic@gmail.com Distinguished Affiliate
Rajna Swaminathan rajna.s@uci.edu Assistant Professor
Integrated Composition, Improvisation and Technology
Kojiro Umezaki kumezaki@uci.edu Professor and Associate Chair
Integrated Composition, Improvisation and Technology

Jazz Studies

Jazz Studies

Kei Akagi kakagi@uci.edu UCI Chancellor's Professor
Jazz Studies Director and Jazz Piano
Jason Harnell jharnell@uci.edu Lecturer
Jazz Drums
Dawn Norfleet dnorflee@uci.edu Lecturer
Jazz History
Darek Oles doleszki@uci.edu Lecturer
Jazz Bass
Gerald Pinter gpinter@uci.edu Lecturer
Jazz Saxophone
Dr. Bobby Rodriguez rodrigub@uci.edu Lecturer
Jazz Orchestra and Jazz Trumpet

Music History and Music Theory

Music History and Music Theory

Amy Bauer abauer@uci.edu Professor
Music Theory; Graduate Director
David Brodbeck david.brodbeck@uci.edu Professor
Musicology
Dr Joe Davies Jdavies3@uci.edu Marie Skłodowska-Curie Global Fellow
Musicology
Nicole Grimes ngrimes@uci.edu Associate Professor, Robert & Marjorie Rawlins Chair of Music
Musicology
Stephan Hammel hammels@uci.edu Assistant Professor
Musicology
Colleen Reardon reardonc@uci.edu Professor
Musicology; Undergraduate Director

Vocal Arts

Vocal Arts

Frances Young Bennett fbennett@uci.edu Lecturer
Vocal Arts
Dr. Irene Messoloras imessolo@uci.edu Assistant Professor
Director of Choral Activities
Darryl Taylor taylord@uci.edu Professor
Vocal Arts

Instrumental Performance - Woodwind

Instrumental Performance - Woodwind

Patricia Cloud pcloud@uci.edu Lecturer
Flute
Jonathan Davis jddavis@uci.edu Lecturer
Oboe
Elliot Moreau emoreau@uci.edu Lecturer
Bassoon
Hossein Omoumi homoumi@uci.edu Professor
Maseeh Professor in Persian Performing Arts
Amanda Walker ajwalker@uci.edu Lecturer
Clarinet

Instrumental Performance - Strings

Instrumental Performance - Strings

Eleanore Choate choatee@uci.edu Lecturer
Harp
Alexander Dunn dunna2@uci.edu Lecturer
Guitar & Lute
Matt Hare harem@uci.edu Lecturer
Bass
Jerzy Kosmala jkosmala@uci.edu Lecturer
Viola
Dennis Kim dennik2@uci.edu Lecturer
Violin
Sarah Koo Freeman sjkoo@uci.edu Lecturer
Cello and chamber music

Instrumental Performance - Brass

Instrumental Performance - Brass

Fred Greene fwgreene@uci.edu Lecturer
Tuba
Adedeji Bailes Ogunfolu aogunfol@uci.edu Lecturer
Horn
Barry Perkins beperkin@uci.edu Lecturer
Trumpet (classical)
Michael Rushman rushmanm@uci.edu Lecturer
Trombone (classical)

Instrumental Performance - Percussion

Instrumental Performance - Percussion

Gary Heaton-Smith gheatons@uci.edu Lecturer
Percussion (classical)

Instrumental Performance - Piano

Instrumental Performance - Piano

Lorna Griffitt lgriffit@uci.edu Professor of Teaching
Piano (classical)
Yuliya Minina mininay@uci.edu Principal Musician
Collaborative Piano
Junko Nojima jnojima@uci.edu Principal Musician
Collaborative Piano
Nina Scolnik nscolnik@uci.edu Professor of Teaching
Piano (classical)

Instrumental Performance - Conductors

Instrumental Performance - Conductors

Kevin McKeown mckeownk@uci.edu Lecturer
Wind Ensemble
Geoffrey Pope geoffrey.pope@uci.edu Conductor, UCI Symphony Orchestra and Opera