Faculty by Area

Nicole Grimes ngrimes@uci.edu Associate Professor
Musicology

Instrumental Performance - Brass

Instrumental Performance - Brass

Fred Greene fwgreene@uci.edu Lecturer
Tuba
Adedeji Bailes Ogunfolu aogunfol@uci.edu Lecturer
Horn
Barry Perkins beperkin@uci.edu Lecturer
Trumpet (classical)
Michael Rushman rushmanm@uci.edu Lecturer
Trombone (classical)

Instrumental Performance - Conductors

Instrumental Performance - Conductors

Kevin McKeown mckeownk@uci.edu Lecturer
Wind Ensemble
Geoffrey Pope geoffrey.pope@uci.edu Lecturer
Conductor, UCI Symphony Orchestra and Opera

Instrumental Performance - Percussion

Instrumental Performance - Percussion

Gary Heaton-Smith gheatons@uci.edu Lecturer
Percussion (classical)

Instrumental Performance - Piano

Instrumental Performance - Piano

Lorna Griffitt lgriffit@uci.edu Professor of Teaching
Piano (classical); Director of Undergraduate Studies
Yuliya Minina mininay@uci.edu Principal Musician
Collaborative Piano
Junko Nojima jnojima@uci.edu Principal Musician
Collaborative Piano
Nina Scolnik nscolnik@uci.edu Professor of Teaching
Piano (classical)

Instrumental Performance - Strings

Instrumental Performance - Strings

Eleanore Choate choatee@uci.edu Lecturer
Harp
Alexander Dunn
Matt Hare harem@uci.edu Lecturer
Bass (classical)
Jerzy Kosmala jkosmala@uci.edu Lecturer
Viola
Dennis Kim dennik2@uci.edu Assistant Professor
Violin
Sarah Koo Freeman sjkoo@uci.edu Lecturer
Cello and chamber music

Instrumental Performance - Woodwind

Instrumental Performance - Woodwind

Patricia Cloud pcloud@uci.edu Lecturer
Flute
Jonathan Davis jddavis@uci.edu Lecturer
Oboe
Elliot Moreau emoreau@uci.edu Lecturer
Bassoon
Hossein Omoumi homoumi@uci.edu Professor
Maseeh Professor in Persian Performing Arts Persian music
Amanda Walker ajwalker@uci.edu Lecturer
Clarinet

Integrated Composition, Improvisation, and Technology (ICIT)

Integrated Composition, Improvisation, and Technology (ICIT)

Michael Dessen mdessen@uci.edu Professor and Interim Robert & Marjorie Rawlins Chair of Music
Jazz Program Coordinator; Core faculty, Integrated Composition, Improvisation and Technology (ICIT)
Christopher Dobrian dobrian@uci.edu Professor
Core faculty, Integrated Composition, Improvisation and Technology PhD; Director of Graduate Studies
Mari Kimura kimuram1@uci.edu Professor
Core faculty, Integrated Composition, Improvisation and Technology PhD
Eric Lindsay lindsaye@uci.edu Lecturer
Musicianship, Music Theory, and Composition
Nicole Mitchell blackearthmusic@gmail.com Distinguished Affiliate
Rajna Swaminathan rajna.s@uci.edu Assistant Professor
Core faculty, Integrated Composition, Improvisation and Technology PhD
Kojiro Umezaki kumezaki@uci.edu Professor and Associate Chair
Core faculty, Integrated Composition, Improvisation and Technology PhD

Jazz Studies

Jazz Studies

Sasha Berliner sberline@uci.edu Lecturer
Jazz Combo and Jazz Composition
Jason Harnell jharnell@uci.edu Lecturer
Drums (jazz)
Dawn Norfleet dnorflee@uci.edu Lecturer
Jazz History
Darek Oles doleszki@uci.edu Lecturer
Bass (jazz) and Jazz Combo
Vardan Ovsepian vovsepia@uci.edu Lecturer
Jazz Piano and Jazz Combo
Gerald Pinter gpinter@uci.edu Lecturer
Saxophone (jazz) and Jazz Combo
Eric Revis erevis@uci.edu Lecturer
Jazz Combo and Contemporary Ensemble
Paul Roth pnroth@ucsd.edu Lecturer
Jazz Studies

Music History and Music Theory

Music History and Music Theory

Amy Bauer abauer@uci.edu Professor
Music theory; Core faculty, History and Theory of Music PhD
David Brodbeck david.brodbeck@uci.edu Professor
Musicology; Core faculty, History and Theory of Music PhD
Stephan Hammel hammels@uci.edu Associate Professor
Musicology and Music Theory; Core faculty, History and Theory of Music PhD

Research Fellows

Research Fellows

Dr Joe Davies Jdavies3@uci.edu Marie Skłodowska-Curie Global Fellow
Musicology

Vocal Arts

Vocal Arts

Frances Young Bennett fbennett@uci.edu Lecturer
Vocal Arts
Irene Messoloras imessolo@uci.edu Assistant Professor, Interim Associate Chair
Director of Choral Activities
Darryl Taylor taylord@uci.edu Professor
Vocal Arts