Aleck Karis performs music of Debussy and Stravinsky

Please join us on Friday, October 12th at 1:15 pm in Winifred Smith Hall for a recital by renowned pianist Aleck Karis. The concert is free and open to the public.

Aleck Karis has performed recitals, chamber music, and concertos across the Americas, Europe, Japan, and China.  As the pianist of the new music ensemble Speculum Musicae he has participated in over a hundred premieres and performed at major American and European festivals.  His appearances with orchestra have ranged from concertos by Mozart, Beethoven and Chopin to those of Stravinsky, Messiaen and Carter.  His six solo discs on Bridge Records include Chopin/Carter/Schumann, Mozart, Stravinsky, Cage, Feldman/Webern/Wolpe, and Poulenc.  His two discs on Roméo Records are Music of Philip Glass and Late Chopin. He has studied with William Daghlian, Artur Balsam and Beveridge Webster, and is a distinguished professor of music at the University of California, San Diego.


Children’s Corner (1908), Claude Debussy                                            

Doctor Gradus Ad Parnassum

Jimbo’s Lullaby

Serenade of the Doll

The Snow is Dancing

The Little Shepherd

Golliwogg’s cake walk   


Etudes, Book I (1915), Claude Debussy   

            I.   pour les cinq doigts

            II.  pour les Tierces

            III. pour les Quartes

            IV. pour les Sixtes

            V.   pour les Octaves

            VI.  pour les huit doigts


Sonata (1924) , Igor Stravinsky




Etudes, Book II (1915), Claude Debussy

VII. pour les degrés chromatiques                

VIII.   pour les agréments

IX. pour les notes repétées

X.  pour les Sonorités opposées

XI. pour les Arpèges composés

XII. pour les accords


October 12, 2018 - 1:15am