Gassmann Electronic Music Series

2017 - 2018

University of California, Irvine

Gassmann Electronic Music Series


Gassmann Series Events 2017-2018


Jean-Claude Risset: In Memoriam
Loadbang: Lungpowered
Zeena Parkins: Captiva
ICIT: Student Concert

The Gassmann Electronic Music Studio presents a season of concerts, lectures, panels, and workshops focusing on Music and Computers.

The events are held at the Music Department in the Claire Trevor School of the Arts at the University of California, Irvine.

The producer and director of the Gassmann Electronic Music Series is Christopher Dobrian.

The Gassmann Electronic Music Series is funded by the Gassmann Electronic Music Studio and the UCI Department of Music.

Past Series

The 2016-2017 season of the Gassmann Electronic Music Series presented concerts and workshops by guest artists Pamela Z, Val-Inc., Laetitia Sonami, and the Now Hear Ensemble, lectures by researcher Oeyvind Brandtsegg, and the ninth annual ICIT student concert.

The 2015-2016 season of the Gassmann Electronic Music Series included a new music ensemble led by Lisa Mezzacappa, lectures on artificial creativity by David Cope
New Expressions: Women in Music Technology, a concert and workshop by Eve Egoyan and David Rokeby, an ICIT faculty concert
, the spatialized sound installationCenter for Interesting Noises, and the annual ICIT student concert.

The 2014-2015 season of the Gassmann Electronic Music Series presented concerts and workshops by composer Neil Rolnick, the Michael Dessen Trio, percussionist Aiyun Huang, and cyber-nomad Onyx Ashanti.

The 2013-2014 season of the Gassmann Electronic Music Series included a concert of visual music by composer and media artist Jaroslaw Kapuscinski, a concert of octaphonic electro-acoustic music by composer Nicolas Vérin, live performance of original music on classic synthesizers by students of the UCI Music Department in a concert titled "Synthesizers Live!", a concert for flute and computers by the performance duo Shackle (Anne La Berge and Robert van Heumen), a concert of computer-mediated instrumental performances titled "Interactive Instrumentation" by the faculty of the ICIT graduate program at UCI, and the annual concert of new works by the students of ICIT. The season also included numerous lectures and workshops by visiting scholars and researchers such as Marc Battier, Marcelo Wanderley, and Ian Hattwick.

The 2012-2013 season featured a concert of The Music of Conlon Nancarrow, a concert of works by music technology students of Cal Arts titled KarmetiK Dream Space: Decoding Dreams, music of Ivan Bellocq and others in nIceLAndscapes, two concerts of diverse new music in the ICIT Symposium on New Directions, a concert of works for piano and electronics by Manuel Laufer, and the 5th annual ICIT student concert.

The 2011-2012 season featured concert performances by Bob Ostertag and Mark Applebaum, a concert of new works for Computer-Mediated instruments by the faculty of ICIT, the 4th annual ICIT student concert, and a screening of a film by Steve Elkins.

The 2010-2011 season featured concert performances by Pamela Z, Amy X Neuburg and the Robin Cox Ensemble, [THE], and the 3rd annual ICIT student concert, as well as lectures by Roger Reynolds and Marcelo Wanderley.

The 2009-2010 season featured concert performances by Steve Lehman, Gloria Cheng, Michael Dessen, Christopher Dobrian, Rudresh Mahanthappa, Mark Dresser, Gerry Hemingway, Jean-Charles Francois, and The E.A.R. Unit, as well as the 2nd annual ICIT student concert.

The 2008-2009 season featured performances and lectures by virtuoso performer/composers Kojiro Umezaki, Michael Dessen, Mari Kimura, Anne La Berge, and Abbie Conant, a series of lectures on electroacoustic music by composer/historian Marc Battier, and the inaugural ICIT student concert.

The 2007-2008 season featured performances by electronic artists Laetitia Sonami and Sue Costabile and saxophonist Michael Straus, and a presentation on synthesizer technology development by Benjamin Israel.

The 2006-2007 season featured performances of major computer music works of Philippe Manoury by soprano Julianna Snapper and flutist Elizabeth McNutt, improvised acoustic and computer music by Michael Dessen and Adam Rudolph, original compositions of live synthesizer music by UCI students, and works for piano and computer by Christopher Dobrian and Kei Akagi.

The 2005-2006 season featured performances and presentations by clarinetist E. Michael Richards, pianist Bob Gluck, and composer/programmers William Kleinsasser, and David Kim-Boyle.

The 2004-2005 season featured performances and presentations by musical robot engineer Eric Singer, pianist Kei Akagi, composer/programmer John Jannone, and programmer Joshua Kit Clayton.

The 2003-2004 season featured performances and presentations by clarinetist Gareth Davis, mathematician Ami Radunskaya, and UCI student composers.

The 2002-2003 season featured performances and presentations by choreographer Dawn Stoppiello, programmer Mark Coniglio, UCI professor Christopher Dobrian, pianist/composer Mike Garson, and others.

The 2001-2002 season featured performances and presentations by pianist Kei Akagi, flutist Cécile Daroux, clarinetist Louis Sclavis, composer Nicolas Vérin, guitarist Fred Frith, computer music programmer Ichiro Fujinaga, composer Pablo DiLiscia, flutist Jane Rigler, trumpeter Graham Ashton, cellist Hugh Livingston, composer/performer Laetitia Sonami, composer/performer George Lewis, composer Thomas Dolby, and others.

The 2000-2001 season featured performances and presentations by 3D recording specialist Franz Pusch, composer David Was, composer/trombonist Vinko Globokar, composer/saxophonist Michael Zbyszynski, percussionist Don Williams, flutist/composer Robert Dick, flutist Beate-Gabriela Schmitt, and others.

The 1999-2000 season featured performances and presentations by Cécile Daroux, Christopher Dobrian, Amy Knoles, Neil Rolnick, Mark Trayle, Nicolas Vérin, and others.

The 1998-1999 season featured performances by such innovative composers/performers/programmers as Pedro Eustache, Mari Kimura, Joan La Barbara, Sylvia Pengilly, Pamela Z, and others.

The 1997-1998 season featured appearances by such outstanding and renowned composers/performers/programmers as David Cope, Mark Dresser, Daniel Koppelman, Joan La Barbara, George Lewis, Denman Maroney, Laetitia Sonami, John Stevens, Morton Subotnick, and Matthias Ziegler; visiting artists and scholars such as Harold Cohen, Robert Winter, and David Zicarelli; and UCI professors Cornelia Fales and Christopher Dobrian.

This page was last modified March 20, 2018.